I know a lot of people espouse taking the safer route when it comes to sofas–they’re big, expensive and not something you’d regularly replace, after all–but I have a weak spot for the more unique ones. For those of you like me, here’re a few show-stoppers currently available on CL:

Chesterfield sofa:


Asking: $465
Condition: Vintage, with well-worn leather and one missing button.
Dimensions: 74″ wide, 33″ deep, 28″ high
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Thoughts: This isn’t my favorite colored chesterfield that’s currently listed (that would be this one), but at about 1/4 of the price, this one won out. And who doesn’t enjoy a good chesterfield sofa?

Check it out.

Update: This item is no longer available.

Green sleeper sofa with piping:

Asking: $400 for the sofa, $200 for matching love seat or $500 for both
Condition: “Like new and rarely used”
Dimensions: Not provided
Location: Clarksburg, MD
Thoughts: The lighting in these photos is off (and there’s a definite dearth of info in the description), but they appear to be kelly green, which is one of my favorite colors. And I just realized that not one, not two, not three, not four, not five, but SIX of my favorite living room designs feature kelly green sofas. Maybe I should get these myself and put them in storage??

Check ’em out.

Red velvet Italian sofa:

Asking: $400 for the sofa, $300 for matching love seat
Condition: Not described, but I wouldn’t have included it here if I didn’t think it looked nice.
Dimensions: Not provided
Location: Reston, VA
Thoughts: Striking feminine lines. I’m still not crazy about red, but I think I like the subtle pattern on the fabric. Or, for that price, you could reupholster (and possibly paint the wood).

Check it out.

Also, I noticed that the Jonathan Adler sofa mentioned here (definitely a statement piece), has been reduced to $1200. Actually, now it’s down to $1000! Come on, someone’s gotta get on that!

