Good ones, I mean. Obviously there are plenty of ugly coffee tables available. My problem is that I’m usually not even sure if I like them. When I look at a sofa, I know if I like it. Same with most chairs, dressers, dining tables and other furniture. But for some reason coffee tables usually just make me tilt my head and say “huh…” I dunno what it is, but it’s weird. Anyway, here are a few that I think I like. I’m pretty sure, actually. Tell me if I’m wrong.


Asking: $50
Condition: “A few marks, but nothing serious”
Dimensions: “Roughly 2 or 2.5 feet wide and 3 or 3.5 feet long” (that approximation made me laugh)
Location: Manassas, VA
Thoughts: I’m fairly confident about this one. It works with the current x-bench craze, but isn’t overly trendy. And it’s a good price.

Check it out. 


Asking: $200, or best offer
Condition: It’s made of reclaimed wood, so it’s not supposed to be perfect.
Dimensions: Not provided
Location: Arlington, VA
Thoughts: Reclaimed wood is also on-trend without being overly trendy. I like how this look meshes well with modern and traditional.

Check it out.


Asking: $595
Condition: It’s an antique, so I doubt it looks new. But that’s okay.
Dimensions:  46″ long, 30″ wide, 17″ tall
Location: Washington, DC
Thoughts: Probably more than I’d spend on a coffee table any time in the near future, but I do think it’s pretty darn cool. Update: If you like this look, but wouldn’t pay $600 for a coffee table, jump on this very similar option that just popped up for 100 bucks.

Check it out.

PS I limited myself to the ones under a bazillion dollars, but there were some very pretty spensive options to be found.

PPS As you might have heard, a whole bunch of sites (including CL … but I think my links should work … if not sorry! check back tomorrow) are blacking out today, to oppose PIPA and SOPA. You can read more about the issues here and show your support if you’re inclined.

