My very fun and fashionable friend Stephie tagged me to answer some questions about myself, and since I’m apparently totally self absorbed “into reflection,” I’m jumping at the chance. Here are the official rules

  1. You must post 11 random things about yourself.
  2. Answer the questions the tagger set for you in their post.
  3. Create 11 new questions for the people you tag anyone who feels like it to answer.
  4. Go to their blog and tell them that you have tagged them. I realize this is sort of the “point” of these things, but since I don’t personally know many bloggers whom a.) Stephie didn’t already tag and b.) are likely to do this. Maybe two. And it feels silly to tag two people.

Here are 11 random things about me:

  1. When people ask me where I’m from, I claim both Newport, RI (where I was born) and Alexandria, VA (where I lived the longest/went to high school).
  2. I’m a Navy brat and moved every 18 months when I was young. Newport, RI –> San Diego, CA –> Alexandria, VA –> Newport, RI –> Long Beach, CA –> Portsmouth, RI –> Alexandria, VA (and then, on my own –> Charlottesville, VA –> Glen Allen, VA –> Richmond, VA –> Raleigh, NC –> and finally back to Alexandria, VA)
  3. I’m going through a divorce, which is obviously sad and not how I envisioned my late 20s, BUT I’m focusing on having the unique chance to start fresh at a fairly young age, and for that I’m very grateful.
  4. When I was in 8th grade, I told my mom that I wanted to be an interior decorator when I grew up. At a parent/teacher conference, she told my 8th grade teacher, who said I was “way too smart for that.” I totally regret letting that dream die so easily …
  5. The last TV show I watched was Downton Abbey (obsessed); the last movie was a French comedy called How to Get Married and Stay Single (enjoyed it); the last book I read was The Secret (liked, didn’t believe everything, but still got a lot out of); and the last song I listened to was K’naan’s “Wavin’ Flag” (on my run earlier today).
  6. If I were to randomly inherit some money, say $5000, I promised myself I’d invest in a piece of original art that I love. Probably something by Steve Pyke, a portrait artist I’ve loved for years. (Specifically, I’d get a large portrait of either Chinua Achebe or Seamus Heaney.) If I were to suddenly be given a very large sum of money, I’d buy an inn or B&B to run for the rest of my life. I’d hire my favorite designers to turn it into a “boutique inn”, which I don’t think exists, but should.
  7. I work from home (but not as a freelancer), writing and editing about business-related topics.
  8. I have a golden retriever named Seamus (after Seamus Heaney, of course), whom I refer to as “the handsomest dog in the world.”
  9. I’ve recently gotten into Meetup and have only had really great experiences. I joined a running/social club that I’m loving, a happy hour club that I’ll be attending my second event with tomorrow and a girls-only club that I’ll meet with for the first time on Saturday to drive some golf balls. If you want to meet people and make new friends (kinda tricky when you work from home!), I can’t recommend it highly enough.
  10. I taught high school English for three years. Loved aspects of it. Hated aspects of it. Mostly was just very, very stressed all the time. I’m happier now, but I do miss some things.
  11. My biggest pet pieve is when lots of people, all going in the same direction, are trying to get through double doors but only use the door on the right. This really only happens when you’re re-entering a building after a fire drill or something like that, but it drives me crazy. Use both doors.

Now for my answers to Stephie’s questions:

  1. What are you most likely to be found doing on the weekends? I don’t think there’s one thing, but I’ve been trying to keep busy. Dinners, bars, clothing swaps, book club meetings, runs, brunches, etc.
  2. If you could only spend time with one family member, who would it be? Jeez, I’m glad I only have one sibling! Otherwise this could be a tricky question. My brother, Tim, hands down. He’s awesome. If you only knew one of us, you’d probably be surprised to meet the other. Tim’s a film major, music festival junky, Burner, bohemian with dreads. I am what you would imagine as “the opposite of all those things.” But personality- and values-wise, we’re very similar. I’d like to be more like him (sans dreads).
  3. What is your favorite item of clothing? I splurged on a Kate Spade coat this year and I adore it. I also love, love, love my Nike Frees.
  4. What movie have you seen more times than you’d like to admit? Emma with Gwyneth Paltrow. I never get sick of it. But that’s not especially embarrassing … hmm … oh! Center Stage. I’ve definitely seen that enough times to be a little embarrassed–though sometimes I just skipped around to watch the dance scenes.
  5. Are you happy with what you decided to study in school? If not, what do you think you should have studied? I have mixed feelings about this, because on one hand I loved college and wouldn’t change a single thing about my experience. (BTW: I did a five-year program to get my BA in English and my Master of Teaching English.) On the other hand, since I didn’t end up staying with teaching, I do wish I’d branched out more and taken some graphic design or business classes. Whenever I had free space, I took extra English and teaching classes. (Side note: If you majored in English or something similar, you will love this.)
  6. What was your favorite game to play as a kid? Uhhh … I have no idea. I know I had a bunch of those PlayMobil sets … I’m sure I liked those.
  7. Which room do you spend most of your time in at your house/apartment? Probably a tie between my office with my work computer and my bedroom with my bed and my personal computer.
  8. Do you like to go thrifting? If so, what was your most amazing find ever? I used to go a lot when I was in high school, but not so much since then. A couple years ago I started going to the J.Crew warehouse sales in Lynchburg and got some good deals there.
  9. What’s one thing you will never leave your house without? iPhone
  10. Are you a tea or a coffee person? (Or neither?) Both, but I prefer black tea. My fave is St. Dalfour in either Peppermint or Black Cherry.
  11. What made you start your blog, and what makes you stick with it? This is blog numero tres for me (not counting the ones I contribute to for work), so I don’t have a good record of keeping them going. I started this one because I missed the outlet, but wanted to do something that wasn’t writing-intensive, since I write for work. I enjoy perusing CL and like the idea of helping people find things they want/need, so the idea for this blog was born. However, this is quite a long and writing-intensive post, so I’m abandoning my plan to include some of my personal favorite CL finds (that’s basically all I post anyway) and just getting on to the final bit where I ask the questions …

Feel free to answer one or all of these in the comments, on your blog or in your own head:

  1. What’s your geographical soulmate (the place where you feel most happy/complete)?
  2. What’s the most recent epiphany–big or small–that you’ve had?
  3. What’s your favorite museum or type of museum?
  4. Have you ever bought anything off CL? If so, what was your best score?
  5. What’s the most embarrassing song on your iPod/MP3 player of choice?
  6. What book(s) have you reread because they’re just that good?
  7. What are three things on your bucket list?
  8. What was your proudest moment?
  9. Whom do you look up to?
  10. What’s your biggest guilty pleasure?
  11. If you suddenly found out that you (or your significant other) were going to give birth to a son and a daughter tomorrow, what would you name them?

Thanks for humoring me!

