I’m thinking it’s probably a bad idea, but the couch search isn’t yielding anything. And although most of the coffee tables I’ve seen on CL are pretty hideous, there are a few that warrant consideration. What do you think about these:

Ballard Designs Durham coffee table:

Asking: $300 [No longer available]
Condition: New in box (or partially in box, I guess)
Dimensions: 18.25″ high, 50″ wide, 24″ deep
Location: Bethesda, MD
Thoughts: I think this look is really charming, I just don’t think it’s right for the look I’m going for (whatever that is). And it’s not a killer deal–and that’s half the fun of CL. It’ll save you about $80 with shipping; the seller just doesn’t feel like disassembling it to return it.

Check it out.

Brass and glass coffee table:

Asking: $75 [No longer available]
Condition: Not described; looks fine
Dimensions: Not provided
Location: Glover Park, DC
Thoughts: I think this would compete too much with my brass and glass shelves, since they’d be so close together. But of the brass and glass coffee tables I’ve run across, this feels a lot less ’80s to me, so that’s good. And the price is right.

Check it out.

Chrome and glass coffee table:

Asking: $80 [No longer available]
Condition: Great condition
Dimensions: 55″ long, 37.5″ wide, 17″ high
Location: Annandale, VA
Thoughts: I can’t do chrome, but I think someone could pull this off. (Not on wall-to-wall carpet though.)

Check it out.

1960s Lane coffee table:

Asking: $245 [No longer available]
Condition: Sturdy
Dimensions: 56″ long, 19″ wide and 14.5″ tall
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Thoughts: Outside my price range, but it’s a beauty. Look at that dovetail detailing. Sigh…

Check it out.

Black coffee table:

Asking: $150, with two matching sets of stacking side tables [No longer available]
Condition: Not described; looks fine
Dimensions: Not provided
Location: Gainsville, VA
Thoughts: Simple and substantial, with some subtle Asian details. I don’t hate them.

Check it out.

Larkin Co. golden oak coffee table:

Asking: $200 [No longer available]
Condition: Small dent in one corner; otherwise excellent condition
Dimensions: Not provided
Location: Arlington, VA
Thoughts: Confession: This is the only one I’m actually considering. I was hoping to pay $150 or less for a coffee table, but I could stretch that a little. (Another confession: My “budget” is based on absolutely nothing logical.) Normally I’m not a fan of oak, but this looks surprisingly cool and not-dated. Do you agree?

Check it out.

